FINDING THE COURAGE

While writing comes fairly easy to those of us who love it, submitting a manuscript to an editor who could reject it with the flick of a pen takes courage, not to mention work and determination.

Submitting any manuscript, no matter how short or how long, takes work, time, and a certain amount of courage. Some of us are willing to do what it takes and risk rejection; others shy away from everything except wanting others to read and praise their work.

Although I started writing children’s stories during my high school years, twenty years passed before I thought seriously about “being a writer,” even though I was writing most of the time. I had kept a detailed travel diary of the years I lived in Australia, as well as a smaller one for a trip to Europe in 1964. I was also writing children’s stories, but only for my family—especially nieces and nephews—to read.

At the insistence of family and friends, I finally got up enough courage to submit five children’s poems to a religious magazine. While one poem was returned, the other four brought me a whopping $4.75. That small check gave me the courage, and the incentive, to start submitting poems to other magazines, namely Turtle, Children’s Playmate, Humpty Dumpty’s, and Jack and Jill (Benjamin Franklin Literary Society, Children’s Better Health Institute). Since then, my work has been published in a wide variety of books and magazines.

Since then, methods of submitting materials have changed drastically as well. Writers used to mail submissions by snail mail and wait for weeks to hear back from editors. Now, with email submissions so prevalent, answers come back almost immediately. But even with hundreds of publications and two books to my credit, it still takes courage to hit the Send button.

For a glimpse into my books, Snaps, Scraps & Snippets of the Past and Present, and Light for the Burning Soul, please visit my website as http://loisjfunk.com. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

