PRESS RELEASE: JUDGE, 22nd ANNUAL WRITER’S DIGEST SELF-PUBLISHED BOOK AWARDS

“Judge, 22nd Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards.”

Entry Title Snaps, Scraps & Snippets of the Past and Present (How to Retrieve the Lost Pictures of Your Past)

Author: Lois J. Funk

Entry Category: Nonfiction

Books are evaluated on a scale of 1 to 5, with 1 meaning “needs improvement” and 5 meaning “outstanding”. This scale is strictly to provide a point of reference, it is not a cumulative score and does not reflect ranking.

  Structure, Organization, and Pacing: 5

 Spelling, Punctuation, and Grammar: 5

Production Quality and Cover Design: 4

 Plot and Story Appeal: 5

Voice and Writing Style: 5

Judge’s Commentary:

I loved this book.  Many of your memories are my memories.  The most important thing I got from this book is to pass your ideas down to my grandchildren so that however many years from now they will have the scraps and snippets, perhaps in a journal so they may retrieve their memories.  I’ve lost memory-starters each time we moved.  I love your talent for writing your thoughts in poetry.  You are a good poet, the kind that a non-poetry-fan can understand, enjoy and appreciate.  The times and activities you describe somehow seem nicer than today.  I guess that’s nostalgia.  That’s where this book shines – in creating nostalgia.  Your idea of taking small things to build back your memories is great.  Your writing is very easy to read, the pacing is perfect and the format of poems inserted between explanatory text is great.  I like that you titled the sections.  You are great at metaphors, especially liking the sieve concept.  I like the Getting the Picture exercises.  Perhaps your book could be the foundation of a church group.  I loved most of your poems, but I remember most the one about you and your sister planting seeds.  In fact, this book may be a bridge over estranged years with my own sister. (See, we never know where what we write can end up.  A snippet might change someone’s life.)  The best part of the book is how many of your memories matched mine. You have definitely met your goal in writing this book for this reader.  I plan to spread your ideas around in conversations with my friends.  Thank you for making a difference with this book.  You are a wonderful writer.  Good luck.

*

For a glimpse into my books, Snaps, Scraps & Snippets of the Past and Present, and Light for the Burning Soul, please visit my website as http://loisjfunk.com. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

